The 2016 ESPA Elections: Results

We are pleased to announce the results of the elections of new officers and members of the Executive Board of the European Society for Paediatric Anaesthesiology.

Statutory Officers

For each of the statutory offices there was one unopposed candidate, each of whom was elected by at least 96 % of those voting.

Francis Veyckemans


Election statement (PDF)

We are delighted to welcome Francis Veyckemans in ESPA who has been elected as our president to take office in 2017.

Jurgen de Graaff

Honorary Secretary

Election statement (PDF)

We also welcome Jurgen de Graaff who takes office of a Honorary Secretary of ESPA in September 2016.

Michael Brackhahn

Honorary Treasurer

Election statement (PDF)

We are also happy that Michael Brackhahn will continue his great work as a Honorary Treasurer of ESPA.

Executive Board Members

One of the current ExBo members – Maria Vittinghoff – stood for re-election and was elected.

Maria Vittinghoff

Election statement (PDF)


The call for nominations generated nine other candidates for the ExBo, all of whom confirmed their willingness to stand in the election. One other candidate was standing for re-election.

The final results of the elections can be found HERE.

We are delighted to welcome the following new members of the Executive Board:

Nicola Disma

Election statement (PDF)

Laszlo Vutskits

Election statement (PDF)

Eva Schaffrath-Jurgens

Election statement (PDF)

Nada Sabourdin

Election statement (PDF)

Pertti Suominen

Election statement (PDF)